Kieran and Scott Gold! World Record!

Australia’s Susan Powell won the women’s Individual C4 Pursuit and Kieran Modra [Kilkenny CC] and Scott McPhee triumphed in the day’s final event, the men’s Individual B Pursuit, after Britain’s Sarah Storey won the Individual C5 Pursuit.

Li won gold with a C1 world record of 1:13.009, converted to 1:05.021, with Britain’s Mark Colbourne second in 1:16.882, converted to 1:08.471, and Tobias Graf of Germany third after setting a C2 world record of 1:15.858, converted to 1:09.979.

‘In training I’ve been performing very steady,’ Li said. ‘My performances have been going up, so I was expecting to win.’

Further success for the hosts of the last Paralympics came when Zeng triumphed in 4:20.820, narrowly outside the world record she set in qualification, with Simone Kennedy of Australia second and Allison Jones of the USA third.

Powell won the C4 event in 4:05.200, with Megan Fisher of the USA second andAlexandra Green of Australia third.

Powell said: ‘I didn’t dare to dream. I’m just so happy I can’t describe.’

Storey set a world record in qualifying fastest for the C5 competition in 3:32.170 and caught final opponent Anna Harkowska of Poland after six-and-a-half of the 12 laps to win.

New Zealand’s Fiona Southorn claimed bronze.

Modra and McPhee won an all-Australian final in the B Pursuit, clocking a world record of 4:17.756, with Bryce Lindores and Sean Finning second in 4:22.269 and Spain’s Miguel Angel Clemente and Diego Munoz third in 4:24.015.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s